Call: (703) 267-1250
Essay Contest Scholarship Winners
NRA Civil Rights Defense Fund Youth Essay Contest
Papers were submitted for the 2015 academic year writing contest by students enrolled in an elementary, junior high, or high school. Winners were selected by a committee made up of NRA Assistant General Counsel Skipp Galythly, NRA Assistant General Counsel Morgan Shields, Paralegal Emily Freeman, and Paralegal Steven Brantley. The Fund received 546 Senior entries and 34 Junior entries for 580 total essays. Prizes are awarded, in each category, as follows: First Place, $1,000; Second Place, $600; Third Place, $200; and Fourth Place, $100.

Congratulations to the following 2015 Winners!

Senior Category (Grades 9 through 12)
First Place
Bianca Antunez, Miami, FL
Second Place
Jaycey Beard, Eagle, CO
Third Place
Ian Nathaniel Peterson, Sharpsburg, GA
Fourth Place
Joshua Hano, Fitchburg, WI
Honorable Mentions
Jenna Tomarelli, Limerick, PA
Paige Bain-Vrba, Abrams, WI

Junior Category (Grades 8 and below)
First Place
Rachel Becker, Boyceville, WI
Second Place
Sylvia Nica, Cincinnati, OH
Third Place
James Corley Sanders, Trout, LA
Fourth Place
Taris Mister, Toledo, OH
Honorable Mentions
Avery Abigail Shope, Fort Mill, SC
Don Loos, Springfield, VA
Esther Woelfel, Cole Camp, MO
Hannah Siegel, Newington, CT
Riley Shope, Fort Mill, SC
Ruth Wallace, Bozeman, MT

Click here to view previous years grants & contest winners.